Petroleum Engineering Faculty and Staff

Our team has years of professional experience in the oil and gas industry and enjoys a worldwide reputation and recognition in their areas of teaching and research.

Department Leadership

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Department Head
Professor
Director, Fracturing, Acidizing, Stimulation Technology (FAST)
Co-Director, Center for Earth Materials, Mechanics and Characterization
jmiskimi@mines.edu
303-384-2607

Xiaolong Yin

Xiaolong Yin

Associate Department Head
Associate Professor
Director of Multiphase Fluid Dynamics and Fluid Properties group
xyin@mines.edu
303-384-2449

Faculty

Linda Ann Battalora

Linda Ann Battalora

Teaching Professor
lbattalo@mines.edu
303-273-3903

Jim Crompton

Jim Crompton

Professor of Practice
jamescrompton@mines.edu

Elio Dean

Elio Dean

Professor of Practice
eldean@mines.edu
303-384-2419

Mansur Ermila

Mansur Ermila

Teaching Associate Professor
mermila@mines.edu
303-384-2377

Alfred William (Bill) Eustes III

Alfred William (Bill) Eustes III

Associate Professor
aeustes@mines.edu
303-273-3745

Yilin Fan

Yilin Fan

Assistant Professor
yilinfan@mines.edu
303-273-3749

Hossein Kazemi

Hossein Kazemi

Professor, Chesebro’ Distinguished Chair in Petroleum Engineering
Co-Director of Marathon Center of Excellence for Reservoir Studies (MCERS)
hkazemi@mines.edu
303-384-2072

Mark G. Miller

Mark G. Miller

Teaching Associate Professor
mmiller@mines.edu
303-273-3187

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Department Head
Professor
Director, Fracturing, Acidizing, Stimulation Technology (FAST)
Co-Director, Center for Earth Materials, Mechanics and Characterization
jmiskimi@mines.edu
303-384-2607

Erdal Ozkan

Erdal Ozkan

Professor
Director Unconventional Reservoir Project (UREP)
Co-Director Marathon Center of Excellence for Reservoir Studies (MCERS)
eozkan@mines.edu
303-273-3188

Jorge Sampaio

Jorge Sampaio

Associate Professor
jsampaio@mines.edu
303-384-2370

Yu-Shu Wu

Yu-Shu Wu

Professor, Energi Simulation Chair
Director of Energy Modeling Group (EMG)
ywu@mines.edu
303-384-2093

Xiaolong Yin

Xiaolong Yin

Associate Department Head
Associate Professor
Director of Multiphase Fluid Dynamics and Fluid Properties group
xyin@mines.edu
303-384-2449

Luis E. Zerpa

Luis E. Zerpa

Associate Professor
lzerpa@mines.edu
303-384-2627

Adjunct Faculty

William (Will) Fleckenstein

William (Will) Fleckenstein

Adjunct Professor
wflecken@mines.edu
303-384-2030

Trent Green

Trent Green

Adjunct Professor
twgreen@mines.edu

Research Faculty

Philip H. Winterfeld

Philip H. Winterfeld

Research Associate Professor
pwinterf@mines.edu
303-384-2366

Tadesse Weldu Teklu

Tadesse Weldu Teklu

Research Assistant Professor
tteklu@mines.edu
303-273-3966

Malcom Pitts

Malcom Pitts

Research Faculty
mpitts@mines.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Hazim H. Abass

Hazim H. Abass

Affiliate Professor

Emeritus Faculty

Ramona M. Graves

Ramona M. Graves

Professor Emeritus
Former Vice Provost and Dean
rgraves@mines.edu

Craig W. Van Kirk

Craig W. Van Kirk

Professor Emeritus
cvankirk@mines.edu

Bill Scoggins

Former Professor and President Emeritus
scoggins@mines.edu

Staff

Joe Chen

Laboratory Coordinator II
Marquez Hall 004
303-273-3291
jychen@mines.edu

Nellie Link

Department Manager
Petroleum Engineering
303-273-3740
link@mines.edu

Rachel McDonald

Program Assistant
Marquez Hall 206
303-273-3321
rmcdonald@mines.edu

Terri Snyder

Undergraduate Program Manager
Marquez Hall 223
303-273-3827
tsnyder@mines.edu

Denise Winn-Bower

Research Administrator, UNGI / UREP / FAST / MCERS / EMG
Marquez Hall 112B
303-273-3945
dwinnbow@mines.edu