Petroleum Engineering Faculty and Staff

Our team has years of professional experience in the oil and gas industry and enjoys a worldwide reputation and recognition in their areas of teaching and research.

Department Leadership

Erdal Ozkan

Erdal Ozkan

Professor and F.H. “Mick” Merelli/Cimarex Energy Distinguished Department Head Chair
Co-Director Marathon Center of Excellence for Reservoir Studies (MCERS)
eozkan@mines.edu
303-273-3188

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Associate Professor
Associate Department Head
Director, Fracturing, Acidizing, Stimulation Technology (FAST)
Co-Director, Center for Earth Materials, Mechanics and Characterization
jmiskimi@mines.edu
303-384-2607

Faculty

Linda Ann Battalora

Linda Ann Battalora

Teaching Professor
lbattalo@mines.edu
303-273-3903

Elio Dean

Elio Dean

Teaching Assistant Professor
eldean@mines.edu
303-384-2419

Mansur Ermila

Mansur Ermila

Teaching Associate Professor
mermila@mines.edu
303-384-2377

Alfred William (Bill) Eustes III

Alfred William (Bill) Eustes III

Associate Professor
aeustes@mines.edu
303-273-3745

Ramona M. Graves

Ramona M. Graves

Professor
Dean, College of Earth Resource Sciences and Engineering
Co-Director of the Center For Earth Materials, Mechanics, and Characterization (CEMMC)
rgraves@mines.edu
303-273-3746

Hossein Kazemi

Hossein Kazemi

Professor, Chesebro’ Distinguished Chair in Petroleum Engineering
Co-Director of Marathon Center of Excellence for Reservoir Studies (MCERS)
hkazemi@mines.edu
303-384-2072

Carrie McClelland

Carrie McClelland

Teaching Associate Professor
cmcclell@mines.edu
303-273-3367

Mark G. Miller

Mark G. Miller

Teaching Associate Professor
mmiller@mines.edu
303-273-3187

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Associate Professor
Associate Department Head
Director, Fracturing, Acidizing, Stimulation Technology (FAST)
Co-Director, Center for Earth Materials, Mechanics and Characterization
jmiskimi@mines.edu
303-384-2607

Erdal Ozkan

Erdal Ozkan

Professor and F.H. “Mick” Merelli/Cimarex Energy Distinguished Department Head Chair
Co-Director Marathon Center of Excellence for Reservoir Studies (MCERS)
eozkan@mines.edu
303-273-3188

Manika Prasad

Manika Prasad

Professor
Director of Physics of Organics, Carbonates, Clays, Sands and Shales (OCLASSH)
Director of Center for Rock Abuse
mprasad@mines.edu
303-273-3457

Jorge Sampaio

Jorge Sampaio

Associate Professor
jsampaio@mines.edu
303-384-2370

Azra N. Tutuncu

Azra N. Tutuncu

Professor and Harry D. Campbell Chair
Director, Unconventional Natural Gas and Oil Institute (UNGI)
atutuncu@mines.edu
303-273-3747

Yu-Shu Wu

Yu-Shu Wu

Professor, CMG Reservoir Modeling Chair
Dirctor of Energy Modeling Group (EMG)
ywu@mines.edu
303-384-2093

Xiaolong Yin

Xiaolong Yin

Associate Professor
Director of Multiphase Fluid Dynamics and Fluid Properties group
xyin@mines.edu
303-384-2449

Luis E. Zerpa

Luis E. Zerpa

Assistant Professor
lzerpa@mines.edu
303-384-2627

Research Faculty

Malcom Pitts

Malcom Pitts

Research Faculty
mpitts@mines.edu

Tadesse Weldu Teklu

Tadesse Weldu Teklu

Research Assistant Professor
tteklu@mines.edu
303-273-3183

Philip H. Winterfeld

Philip H. Winterfeld

Research Associate Professor
pwinterf@mines.edu
303-384-2366

Affiliate Faculty

Hazim H. Abass

Hazim H. Abass

Affiliate Professor
habass@mines.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Bill Scoggins

Former Professor and President Emeritus
scoggins@mines.edu

Craig W. Van Kirk

Professor Emeritus
303-273-3740
cvankirk@mines.edu

Staff

Joe Chen

Laboratory Coordinator II
Marquez Hall 004
303-273-3291
jychen@mines.edu

Kayla Boster

Program Manager
Marquez Hall 206F
303-273-3185
kboster@mines.edu

Rachel McDonald

Program Assistant
Marquez Hall 206
303-273-3321
rmcdonald@mines.edu

Debra Marrufo

Administrative Assistant III
Marquez Hall 206
303-384-2656
dmarrufo@mines.edu

Denise Winn-Bower

Research Administrator, UNGI / UREP / FAST / MCERS / EMG
Marquez Hall 112B
303-273-3945
dwinnbow@mines.edu

Terri Snyder

Undergraduate Program Manager
Marquez Hall 223
303-273-3827
tsnyder@mines.edu