Petroleum Engineering Faculty and Staff

Our team has years of professional experience in the oil and gas industry and enjoys a worldwide reputation and recognition in their areas of teaching and research.

Department Leadership

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Interim Department Head
Associate Professor
Director, Fracturing, Acidizing, Stimulation Technology (FAST)
Co-Director, Center for Earth Materials, Mechanics and Characterization
jmiskimi@mines.edu
303-384-2607

Faculty

Linda Ann Battalora

Linda Ann Battalora

Teaching Professor
lbattalo@mines.edu
303-273-3903

Elio Dean

Elio Dean

Teaching Assistant Professor
eldean@mines.edu
303-384-2419

Mansur Ermila

Mansur Ermila

Teaching Associate Professor
mermila@mines.edu
303-384-2377

Alfred William (Bill) Eustes III

Alfred William (Bill) Eustes III

Associate Professor
aeustes@mines.edu
303-273-3745

Yilin Fan

Yilin Fan

Assistant Professor
yilinfan@mines.edu
303-273-3749

Hossein Kazemi

Hossein Kazemi

Professor, Chesebro’ Distinguished Chair in Petroleum Engineering
Co-Director of Marathon Center of Excellence for Reservoir Studies (MCERS)
hkazemi@mines.edu
303-384-2072

Mark G. Miller

Mark G. Miller

Teaching Associate Professor
mmiller@mines.edu
303-273-3187

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Jennifer L. Miskimins

Interim Department Head
Associate Professor
Director, Fracturing, Acidizing, Stimulation Technology (FAST)
Co-Director, Center for Earth Materials, Mechanics and Characterization
jmiskimi@mines.edu
303-384-2607

Erdal Ozkan

Erdal Ozkan

Professor
Director Unconventional Reservoir Project (UREP)
Co-Director Marathon Center of Excellence for Reservoir Studies (MCERS)
eozkan@mines.edu
303-273-3188

Jorge Sampaio

Jorge Sampaio

Associate Professor
jsampaio@mines.edu
303-384-2370

Azra N. Tutuncu

Azra N. Tutuncu

In Memoriam
Professor and Harry D. Campbell Chair
Director, Unconventional Natural Gas and Oil Institute (UNGI)

Yu-Shu Wu

Yu-Shu Wu

Professor, Energi Simulation Chair
Director of Energy Modeling Group (EMG)
ywu@mines.edu
303-384-2093

Xiaolong Yin

Xiaolong Yin

Associate Professor
Director of Multiphase Fluid Dynamics and Fluid Properties group
xyin@mines.edu
303-384-2449

Luis E. Zerpa

Luis E. Zerpa

Associate Professor
lzerpa@mines.edu
303-384-2627

Adjunct Faculty

Research Faculty

Philip H. Winterfeld

Philip H. Winterfeld

Research Associate Professor
pwinterf@mines.edu
303-384-2366

Tadesse Weldu Teklu

Tadesse Weldu Teklu

Research Assistant Professor
tteklu@mines.edu
303-273-3966

Malcom Pitts

Malcom Pitts

Research Faculty
mpitts@mines.edu

Somayeh Karimi

Somayeh Karimi

Research Assistant Professor
skarimi@mymail.mines.edu
303-273-3966

Affiliate Faculty

Hazim H. Abass

Hazim H. Abass

Affiliate Professor
habass@mines.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Ramona M. Graves

Ramona M. Graves

Professor Emeritus
Former Vice Provost and Dean
rgraves@mines.edu

Craig W. Van Kirk

Craig W. Van Kirk

Professor Emeritus
cvankirk@mines.edu

Bill Scoggins

Former Professor and President Emeritus
scoggins@mines.edu

Staff

Joe Chen

Laboratory Coordinator II
Marquez Hall 004
303-273-3291
jychen@mines.edu

Rachel McDonald

Program Assistant
Marquez Hall 206
303-273-3321
rmcdonald@mines.edu

Terri Snyder

Undergraduate Program Manager
Marquez Hall 223
303-273-3827
tsnyder@mines.edu

Denise Winn-Bower

Research Administrator, UNGI / UREP / FAST / MCERS / EMG
Marquez Hall 112B
303-273-3945
dwinnbow@mines.edu